To be, or not to be, home

Swear to me
By the old gods
That these stone walls
We called home once
Would not accrue
Dust clouds of gloom

Swear to me
By the blood of our unborn son
That the sun would not set on
These words that you promised us

Swear to me
That while you swore that blood oath
You named me country
And you pledged all it takes for us both

As you fought valiantly
I sat by these stone walls…
Waiting…

With brush strokes of memories
Mixing pastel promises
Painting the picture of your return
With my arms coupled around you
While you breathe down my neck a phew

Swear to me
That you will not return to me this way
Slain laid straight in a box
Cold broke yoked to the earth

Swear to me
You body will not come to me
…lifeless!
…again!!

Swear to me
Your love will not return to me
…heartless!
…again!!

Swear to me!!!

8 thoughts on “To be, or not to be, home

Share your knowledge

