Aside

Sun Dance

On my way to twenty-two
A land filled with horror and big books
I stumbled down the forest’s path
My shoes, them two, got lost in the sand
And lost they did remain
Abandoning what made
Feet strong, and paths with bumps

On my way to thirty-three
Spirits I see in misty glee
Alas! My foddered soul can be free
“Spirit, spirit. Precursor to man.
How can I, my soul, unhand?”
“Unhand!?”, they said, “Unhand
Really!? Boy — find your feet

On my way to forty-four
Corn fields looked at me with scorn
Heard me some minions discuss
“No shoe, no feet, no way to give up
Why go on? Get Gru’s freeze gun!”
And on went the banter
To which I paid no mind

On my way to fifty-five
Remembering why I was fortified
The streets stood out so masculine
Two fours, two threes, two twos, all behind
Throw your feet up and unwind
For when the sun does shine…
Feet get lost in the wind

On my way to sixty-six
Hope I’ve not lost you in the mix
Spirits we’ve seen in Misty Glee
Stumbling way down the forest’s path with
No shoe, no feet, no bal’nce, means
Twenty-two to sixty-six are
But bus-stops on Illusion’s path

3 thoughts on “Sun Dance

  1. On my way to seventy-seven
    Looks like I’ve lost you in the maze
    Paths totally untwined
    Vision more blurred than ever
    I’m down by a shoe, my balance is wavering but
    Hey, I have clothes on, I’m warm and fancy,
    Maybe it’s just summer on the beach..
    Who needs shoes? 😂

Share your knowledge

