Plagiarism

It has come to my understanding that plagiarism is a serious academic offense. As a matter of fact, it weighs the same as murder in criminal law. Was plagiarism born because of lazy students who do not want to do their work and want to jump boats in doing well in a course? Or odd plagiarism come to be because of lazy professors who come with the same material every time they yeah the course? Well, let’s find out.

First of all, how did this come to be? A friend invited me to sit in a course I took last semester. Seeing that I had nothing better to do with my time, I buckled to the offer despite my knowledge of the boredom that ran through my nerves when I took the course. It is the same professor as last time and you know, the same course name. I was eager to see how he had modified the course; since this was his promise at the end of my time. But no, the course was more identical than twins who are born at the same time – two heads being pushed out at once.

The lecture notes are the same crap, the examples are the same, the way he switches slides is the same! Even the jokes he uses on slides are the same. Once I heard that joke, I wish I had a tomato to haul at this dude’s face. Now, ladies and gentlemen, comedy is fun; but the rule of thumb is…do not repeat jokes. The test preparing examples are same as the ones I used. Will it be surprising that the tests are the same as I wrote?

School is a system for humans to realize their genius in the most convenient way possible and learn how to monetize their genius over their lifetime. With so much material to plagiarized over, why should a student knowledgeable of the professor’s schemes to go though the redundant cycle of “learning”? You know how the end is gonna be already. Someone else has done the rigorous work of uncovering the answers. Why wait until you get a research position to hone your research skills?

Face facts University, your rules have been broken by your redundancy.

Share your knowledge

