“iOS4 Flash?”, Android asks.

Today, during a lecture, I struck up a conversation with a newly made friend (don’t judge). He was working on his Google Nexus One phone and I have to admit, it’s a pretty smooth phone. Unknown to my subconscious, I had my phone in my hand. “iPhone 4 eh…”, he said. This brought us to a detailed discussion about the two phones; their capabilities and flaws. There was a lot we touched on but pardon my short-term memory, it only recalls one aspect for both phones. (If this post comes in another three weeks, expect the full details of our conversation).

He praised the iOS AppStore for the quality of apps out there. Though I did not agree with this, he proved it to me by revealing the fact that some apps in the Android Market do not even run. This is because Google does not vet apps going into the Android Market. Also, since the development is done in Java with libraries that are simple to get up and going with, mini-projects end up in the Android market. Though this may pose a problem, the rating system takes care of separating the Apps from the (possibly epic fail) miniature  projects.

But, he demonstrated something I wished the iOS had which was support for flash. Opening is browser, he flew to the YouTube site and played a random video. Amazed I sat in my humble seat (which felt like quicksand at this moment). Android supports Flash. Now, we all know about the YouTube app on the iOS and I think we can all agree that it does not encompass all the richness of YouTube. Desperate to redeem the iOS which I have grown to love, unlocked my screen with every neurone in my head rushing to resolve the name of the most flashy app to put down Our Lady of Green Robots a.k.a Android. Unknown to my subconscious, one of the best apps on the iOS is the Home Screen app (the default iOS home screen, “the app where all other apps register their identity”). Its organization and simplicity mixed with the Retina Display proved it unmatched in class.

However, I was not satisfied. I wanted YouTube as it was on the Nexus One. Opening Safari, I flew to the land of Youtube. Shockingly, there were videos…in a different format. This was the mobile version of Youtube. A little tap on the video div and my whole screen went black. Microseconds later came the music and the video. Amazed, I yelled in the emptiness of my apartment, “The iPhone finally has support for Flash!” Or does it?

This version of YouTube may be the HTML5 implementation of the service Adobe spends hundreds of my bandwidth trying to deliver. The UI is intuitive, and the layout is simple. Also, picture the full youtube site on a mobile browser. There are lots of bells and whistles that the user on-the-go would not need. The YouTube site is amazing but all that information on a browser…excess noise. The good news is that this mobile version of YouTube is available for the iOs, Android, Blackberry, Nokia S60, Windows (Halleluja! They finally get to see the upgraded world) and other mobile platforms.

One thought on ““iOS4 Flash?”, Android asks.

  1. This info are really simple and easy to try. I believe all to be happy with this. Thank you for sharing with us the information
    That is very interesting Smile I love reading and I am always searching for informative information like this.

Share your knowledge

